'All of Us Strangers' Sweeps Dorian Awards with 9 Nominations

'All of Us Strangers' Sweeps Dorian Awards with 9 Nominations

The Dorian Awards, renowned for their inclusive approach spanning both mainstream and LGBTQIA+ categories, recognize excellence across film, television, and stage productions. As one of the largest organizations of entertainment journalists worldwide, GALECA: The Society of LGBTQ Entertainment Critics boasts a diverse membership contributing to esteemed media outlets across the globe.

GALECA, representing over 500 entertainment critics, journalists, and media icons, proudly announced the nominations for the 15th Annual Dorian Film Awards. These nominations celebrate the finest achievements in cinema from 2023, recognizing exceptional storytelling, performances, and contributions to LGBTQIA+ representation in film.

Leading the pack with an impressive nine nominations, including Film of the Year, is the haunting masterpiece "All of Us Strangers," written and directed by Andrew Haigh. Greta Gerwig's vibrant feminist tale "Barbie" follows closely behind with seven nominations, while Todd Haynes' "May December" secures six nods.

Among the nominees, several standout categories reflect the diverse and groundbreaking nature of contemporary cinema. The newly introduced LGBTQ Screenplay of the Year and LGBTQ Non-English Language Film of the Year categories celebrate narratives that amplify LGBTQIA+ voices and experiences.

Noteworthy contenders include "A Thousand and One," a gripping drama showcasing a mother's resilience, and "Bottoms," a comedy exploring queer identity. Additionally, the Campy Flick category offers a playful nod to the eccentricities of cinema, featuring titles such as "Dicks: The Musical" and "M3GAN."

In recognition of outstanding career achievements, the Timeless Star award will honor an exemplary figure in the entertainment industry, to be announced alongside other final victors on Monday, February 26th.

Here is the complete list of nominees for the 15th Dorian Film Awards:

Film of the Year
All of Us Strangers (Searchlight)
Barbie (Warner Bros.)
May December (Netflix)
Past Lives (A24)
Poor Things (Searchlight)

LGBTQ Film of the Year
All of Us Strangers (Searchlight)
Bottoms (MGM)
Passages (MUBI, SBS)
Rustin (Netflix)
Saltburn (Amazon MGM)

Director of the Year
Greta Gerwig, Barbie (Warner Bros.)
Andrew Haigh, All of Us Strangers (Searchlight)
Todd Haynes, May December (Netflix)
Christopher Nolan, Oppenheimer (Universal)
Celine Song, Past Lives (A24)

Screenplay of the Year
Original or adapted
Noah Baumbach and Greta Gerwig, Barbie (Warner Bros.)
Samy Burch, May December (Netflix)
Andrew Haigh, All of Us Strangers (Searchlight)
Arthur Harari, Justine Triet, Anatomy of a Fall (NEON)
Celine Song, Past Lives (A24)

LGBTQ Screenplay of the Year (new)
Andrew Haigh, All of Us Strangers (Searchlight)
Arthur Harari, Justine Triet, Anatomy of a Fall (NEON)
Dustin Lance Black, Julian Breece, Rustin (Netflix)
Arlette Langmann, Ira Sachs, Mauricio Zacharias, Passages (MUBI)
Emma Seligman, Rachel Sennott, Bottoms (MGM)

Non-English Language Film of the Year
Anatomy of a Fall (NEON)
The Boy and the Heron (GKIDS, Toho)
Godzilla Minus One (Toho)
Past Lives (A24)
The Zone of Interest (A24)

LGBTQ Non-English Language Film of the Year (new)
Afire (Janus Films, Sideshow)
Anatomy of a Fall (NEON)
Cassandro (Amazon MGM)
Monster (Well Go USA, Gaga, Toho)
Rotting in the Sun (MUBI)

Unsung Film of the Year
To an exceptional movie worthy of greater attention
Are You There, God? It’s Me, Margaret (Lionsgate)
Monica (IFC)
Origin (NEON)
Theater Camp (Searchlight)
A Thousand and One (Focus Features)

Film Performance of the Year
Colman Domingo, Rustin (Netflix)
Paul Giamatti, The Holdovers (Focus Features)
Lily Gladstone, Killers of the Flower Moon (Apple, Paramount)
Sandra Hüller, Anatomy of a Fall (NEON)
Greta Lee, Past Lives (A24)
Trace Lysette, Monica (IFC)
Cillian Murphy, Oppenheimer (Universal)
Natalie Portman, May December (Netflix)
Andrew Scott, All of Us Strangers (Searchlight)
Emma Stone, Poor Things (Searchlight)

Supporting Film Performance of the Year
Danielle Brooks, The Color Purple (Warner Bros.)
Robert Downey Jr., Oppenheimer (Universal)
Jodie Foster, NYAD (Netflix)
Claire Foy, All of Us Strangers (Searchlight)
Ryan Gosling, Barbie (Warner Bros.)
Rachel McAdams, Are You There, God? It’s Me, Margaret (Lionsgate)
Charles Melton, May December (Netflix)
Paul Mescal, All of Us Strangers (Searchlight)
Rosamind Pike, Saltburn (Amazon MGM)
Da'Vine Joy Randolph, The Holdovers (Focus Features)

Documentary of the Year
American Symphony (Netflix)
Beyond Utopia (Roadside Attractions, Fathom Events)
Kokomo City (Magnolia)
Still: A Michael J. Fox Movie
20 Days in Mariupol (PBS Distribution)

LGBTQ Documentary of the Year
Every Body (Focus Features)
Going to Mars: The Nikki Giovanni Project (HBO, Confluential Films)
Kokomo City (Magnolia)
Little Richard: I Am Everything (Magnolia)
Orlando, My Political Biography (Janus Film, Sideshow)

Animated Film of the Year
The Boy and the Heron (GKIDS, Toho)
Elemental (Disney)
Nimona (Netflix, Annapurna)
Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse (SONY)
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Mutant Mayhem (Paramount)

Genre Film of the Year (new)
For excellence in science fiction, fantasy and horror
All of Us Strangers (Searchlight)
Godzilla Minus One (Toho)
M3GAN (Universal)
Poor Things (Searchlight)
Talk To Me (A24)

Film Music of the Year
Barbie — Mark Ronson, Andrew Wyatt, et al. (Warner Bros.)
The Boy and the Heron — Joe Hisaishi (GKIDS, Toho)
The Color Purple — Stephen Bray, Allee Willis, Brenda Russell, Kris Bowers, et al. (Warner Bros.)
Oppenheimer — Ludwig Göransson (Universal)
The Zone of Interest — Mica Levi (A24)
Visually Striking Film of the Year
Asteroid City (Focus Features)
Barbie (Warner Bros.)
Oppenheimer (Universal)
Poor Things (Searchlight)
Spider-Man: Across The Spider-Verse (SONY)

Campiest Flick
Barbie (Warner Bros.)
Bottoms (MGM)
Dicks: The Musical (A24)
M3GAN (Universal)
Saltburn (Amazon MGM)
“We’re Wilde About You!” Rising Star Award
Ayo Edebiri
Lily Gladstone
Jacob Elordi
Charles Melton
Dominic Sessa

Wilde Artist Award
To a truly groundbreaking force in entertainment
Quinta Brunson
Ayo Edebiri
Greta Gerwig
Lily Gladstone
Todd Haynes

GALECA LGBTQIA+ Film Trailblazer Award
For creating art that inspires empathy, truth and equity
Colman Domingo
Jodie Foster
Andrew Haigh
Todd Haynes
Andrew Scott

Timeless Star (Career achievement award)
Honoring an exemplary career marked by character, wisdom and wit
To be announced February 26 with winners.

Check back on February 26th for the announcement of this year’s Dorian Awards winners, and continue to support LGBTQ+ cinema!